Record entries for first stop of the 2023 ESBT Tour in Stroud

NINETY THREE bowlers listed for the first stop of the 2023 English Sport Bowling Tour at Stroud bowl on the first week end of February.

The only tour in the UK designed to help and improve bowlers understanding of the lane patterns and proving popular with UK bowlers.


Squad 1 – Dr Hooper leads the way

Sixteen in the first squad and the usual eight game race on a challenging sport pattern find the best. Simple enough right?

Making the running early on was Team England coach Curtis Hooper with games of 172,170,221,214,213,211,190 and 182 for 1573 to lead just ahead of Craig Parker with 1565 and Edward Taylor third with 1539. Top lady early on was Nicola Day in 5th with 1523.

Squad 2 – Another Coach works it out

The second squad of Saturday saw another Team England coach leading the way and into the overall lead after games of 215,189,209,201,229,203,228 and 207 for 1681.

Second in the block was Senior Team England star Kim Johnson with 1532 and TE Yout star Charlie Upton in third with 1531.

Squad 3 – Moor and Cocker roll More

A UK Tenpin Hall of Famer in the field today and no shocks to see him challenging for the top spot, Games of 185,141,192,216,188,200,214 and 233 for 1569 for Paul Moor and into joint third place with Lee Cocker who also rolled 1569 in the block.

Squad 4 – Teece perfect by Morgan is a home winner

A tasty squad saw Ray Teece fire twelve strikes in a row to record the first 300 of the 2023 season. While brother Richard was getting ready for the US Open TV finals, Ray was showing the family talent at stroud. After a 130 start Ray certainly worked it out and ended in 6th place.

Top of the squad was Charlotte Rathbone with 1665 (1601) and good enough for second overall with Chris Oates in 3rd at the end with 1630.

Winner though was home favourite Hadley Morgan with Saturday’s 1681 enough to claim the first stop of the season. Kim Johnson named a Local folklore legend took highest senior in 13th , best youth was Charlie Upton.


Follow the results first on the official website here