2016 World Bowling Singles Championship Doha, Qatar

World Singles Championships 2016

2nd-world-bowling-singles-logoThe World Singles Championship 2016 will be hosted at Doha Bowling Center in Qatar from December 2nd to 9th.

Originally developed as part of the Championship calendar that holds one event for adult athletes every year, this smaller scale Championship was created to allow smaller cities the possibility to host a world event.

The championship is conducted every fourth year with the first event occurring in Limassol, Cyprus in 2012. 71 male and 57 female athletes from 40 different nations competed in Cyprus with USA athletes Chris Barnes and Kelly Kulick taking out the top prizes.

Follow all the action here



Championship Round:
Gold: Jesper Agerbo, Denmark, 490 (2 games)
Silver: Rafiq Ismail, Malaysia, 440 (2 games)
Bronze: Michael Mak, Hong Kong, 224 (1 game)
Bronze: Joonas Jähi, Finland, 168 (1 game)

Playoff Results:
Semifinal Match 1: No. 1 Agerbo def. No. 4 Jähi, 234-168
Semifinal Match 2: No. Ismail def. No. 3 Mak, 235-224
Championship: Agerbo de. Ismail, 256-205.


Championship Round:
Gold: Kelly Kulick, United States, 430 (2 games)
Silver: New Hui Fen, Singapore, 433 (2 games)
Bronze: Shannon Pluhowsky, United States, 237 (1 game)
Bronze: Shayna Ng, Singapore, 172 (1 game)

Playoff Results:
Semifinal Match 1: No. 4 New def. No. 1 Pluhowsky, 238-237
Semifinal Match 2: No. 2 Kulick def. No. 3 Ng, 216-172
Championship: Kulick def. New, 214-195.