UK Tenpin Hall of Fame 2016


In front of a big crowd at Event City Manchester for the 2016 Weber Cup, three more were inducted in the UK Tenpin Hall of Fame sponsored by Storm Products.

Chris Buck, David Pond were inducted in the male section but sadly female inductees Shelagh Leonard and Jo Cundy were unable to attend and were presented at the BTBA Adult Counties in Nottingham.

Bowltech UK’s Nick Keppe was inducted in the Distinguished Services division, sponsored by the Tenpin Bowling Proprietors Association.


Weber Cup captains Dom Barrett and Parker Bohn III presented to Chris and David with former Weber captain and World legend Tim Mack presenting to Nick Keppe. Photos thanks to Mark Horsfield and Matchroom.

 2016 Hall of fame inductees – A closer look

Yet again, with so many worthy UK bowlers that could be inducted into the UK Tenpin Hall of Fame it was a difficult task for the committee to induct just four. Nominations were made by each of the ten members and a list was drawn up. The Committee then had access to researched details on each player and a ballot was held to find the final four to be inducted in 2016.

After the ballot. The players selected were chosen for their achievements in World, European and Domestic tournaments and for additional honours like World Bowler of the Year and induction into the World Bowling Writers Hall of Fame.

As well as the players being celebrated and honoured an industry award for distinguished service was again selected. Since the sport arrived on our shores special individuals all over the United Kingdom have dedicated their time to improving the game and working tirelessly to make the sport better for everyone. From BTBA, TBPA, YBC officials to tournament organizers these people are the backbone of our sport and make it possible for bowlers to reach for the stars.

So here is a brief run down of the 2016 inductees

Chris Buck was the first Englishman to play on the PBA Tour in a career spanning over 40 years and multiple wins in the UK and Europe. Also coached and managed the national team.

Jo Cundy (nee Harries) Over 35 domestic titles won, English Open champion and medals including Gold dating back to junior national team.

David Pond at seventeen year old became the first Brittish bowler to win World championship Gold, Taking two Gold and one bronze in 1967 in a short but productive career.

Shelagh Leonard 4 Gold, 1 silver, 4 bronze medals, Various national championship wins, Presented with the wikinson sword for achievements, winning also in Spain and Holland.

Nick Keppe Started at Streatham bowl in 1973 before leaving in 1976 three years later he was back in bowling and formed Complete Leisure in 1979, later to become Bowltech UK. Nick was responsible for bringing in a host of new companies to the UK market including Storm Products. He has installed lanes all over the World and has been a big supporter of Sport bowling.

Here is a more comprehensive list of the titles, medals and honours each of the inductees have won

{tab=Chris Buck}

1966 AMF World Cup, London, England – 6th place
1967 World Championships, Malmo, Sweden – Bronze medal in Fives
1975 World Championships, London, England – Eights Bronze
1982 Shotmaker Dagenham 1st
1983 Hofmeister Singles, Sunderland 1st
1983 World Championships, Venezuela, Doubles Gold with Alan Fawcett
1985 NST Hemel  Hemstead 1st
1989 Irish Open, Stillorgan – Winner
1990 PTBC Aiport – Winner
1992 Brunswick World Open qualifier, Enfield 1st
1993 NST Strykers Bushbury 1st
1993 PTBC Tolworth 1st
1995 PTBC Dunstable – 1st
1995 Strykers Bushbury Singles – 1st
1995 PTBC Milton Keynes – 1st

Total medals –  2 Bronze – Many UK domestic titles – First player to play in PBA tour events, Former Great Britain and England Player/Coach/Manager

{tab=Jo Cundy}

1992 European Youth Championships, Belgium Trios Gold, Team Silver
1992 PTBC Tottenham winner
1994 European Youth Championships, Helsinki , Doubles Gold, Team Gold,
1995 British Open , Nottingham winner
1996 Superbowl 2000 Singles, Rotherham winner
1996 PTBC Dunstable winner
1996 Wellingborough Doubles winner
1997 Strykers Bushbury singles winner
1997 PTBC Fareham winner
1997 European Championships, Nottingham, England – Trios silver, Team Bronze
1998 PTBC Airport winner
1999 Bushbury singles winner
2000 European Fives, Norwich winner
2000 Jim Brewer Memorial, Havant winner
2000 PTBC Dunstable winner
2001 PTBC Enfield winner
2001 European Fives, Ipswich winner
2001 Portsmouth Singles winner
2001 PTBC Newbury winner
2001 PTBC Dunstable winner
2002 Sheffield Singles winner
2002 PTBC Croydon winner
2003 Tamworth doubles winner
2003 European Fives, Norwich winner
2003 Coca-Cola fives, Nottingham winner
2004 EBT –  British Open, Nottingham runner up
2004 Eliminator, Nuneaton winner
2004 Portsmouth Singles winner
2004 European Cup Team gold
2005 Tamworth Singles winner
2005 Jim Brewer Memorial, Poole winner
2006 European Fives, Norwich winner
2006 Cheltenham singles winner
2006 Jim Brewer Memorial, Poole winner
2008 Nationals Champion
2008 Jim Brewer  Memorial winner
2008 Berkshire open winner
2009 European Fives, Norwich winner
2009 Uktenpin Macclesfield doubles winner
2010 English Open winner

3 EBT titles, Over 35 UK Domestic titles, English Open champion, Total 3 Gold, 2 Silver, 1 Bronze


{tab=David Pond}

1967 World Championships, Malmo, Sweden – Gold medal in Masters, Gold medal in doubles, Bronze fives
1969 European Championships, Copenhagen, Denmark, Gold fives, Bronze in 8’s
1970 European Champions Cup, Netherlands – Fives Gold
1970 European Team Cup, Breda, Netherlands – Team Silver

First winner of World Championship Gold and medals. Total 4 Gold, 1 Silver, 2 Bronze

{tab=Shelagh Leonard}

1981 world champs Helsinki
1981 ladies sixes volendam gold
1982 London matchplay won
1982 4th European Cup for individuals, Boras, Sweden – Gold
1984 British Open, Firth Park, Sheffield – Winner
1984 european cup team Belgium silver
1985 Woolwich Ladies Singles, Sunderland – Winner
1985 7th European Cup for Individuals, Madrid, Spain – Bronze
1985 euro champs team Austria. Silver
1987 9th European Cup for Individuals, Stillorgan, Ireland – Bronze
1989 British matchplay Cardiff won
1990 Ulster games n Ireland gold
1993 euro champs team Sweden gold
1994 euro cup team Holland bronze
1982 London matchplay won

4 Gold, 1 silver, 4 bronze medals, Various national championships, Presented with the wikinson sword for achievements, Played in various tournaments in Spain and Holland coming first

Total 1 Gold, 2 Bronze- British Open champion


Please visit the UK Hall of Fame website here

hall_of_fame_gold_with_arch.pngAbout the UK Tenpin Hall of Fame

Some of the most influential people in UK bowling were brought together to form the UK Tenpin Hall of Fame.

They include; International bowling writer and former World of Tenpin owner Keith Hale chaired the committee, Secretary of the Tenpin bowling Proprietors Association John Ashbridge, BTBA Committee, Bowltech UK’s Nick Keppe, Bowling Vision’s Graham Waller, TV Commentator Cass Edwards, PTBC’s Andy James, Former NST creator David Grainger, Former British Open organizer and AMF Humber’s Jock Caie and Talktenpin’s Dominic Gall.

With many thanks, the awards will be sponsored by Storm Products Inc and for 2016 four players (Two women and two men) will be inducted. There will also be an industry award for Distinguished Service with sponsored by The Tenpin Bowling Proprietors Association.